Asia Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards (APSEA) Announcements Begin

The Spatial Industry Business Association (SIBA) and the Surveying and Spatial Sciences Institute (SSSI) have announced the following Asia Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards (APSEA) finalists.

Asia Pacific Spatial Excellence AwardsHeld over August and September, the Awards seek to recognise excellence by organisations and individuals in the spatial industry across the Asia Pacific region in six industry award categories and five individual award categories.


2015 New South Wales Finalists

  • Innovation and Commercialisation Award: Esri Australia– Smarter Scheduling NSW
  • Technical Excellence Award: Burton & Field Pty Limited & Surveying & Land Development– AE2 Ermington-Developing a Piece of Anzac History
  • People and Community Award: Spatial Vision and the NSW Office of Water– Our Water
  • Spatial Enablement Award: Monteath and Powys– Deformation Survey of Newcastle Breakwalls Utilising UAV Technology
  • Spatial Professional of the Year Award: Graeme Stewart
  • Young Professional of the Year Award:Alex Pescud
  • Educational Development Award: Karen McLean
  • Undergraduate/Graduate Student Award: Robert Dicker

2015 Queensland Winners

  • Award for Export: GIS People– Gruntify
  • Award for Innovation and Commercialisation: Ergon Energy– Real world savings enabled by spatial innovation
  • Award for People and Community: DigitalGlobe, CRCSI, NGIS Australia  – Cyclone Pam Crisis Map
  • Award for Spatial Enablement: Cohga & Dept of Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Partnerships – Online portal of the Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Cultural Heritage Database & Register
  • Award for Technical Excellence: Land Solution Australia– Queensland State Velodrome
  • Award for Environment and Sustainability: Dept of Science, Information Technology & Innovation (DSITI)– Regrowth Benefits Tool
  • Professional of the Year Award: Chris Swane
  • Young Professional of the Year: David Heycock
  • Educational Development Award: Museum of Lands, Mapping & Surveying
  • Postgraduate Student Award: Muhammad Kamal
  • Undergraduate Student Award Clem Jones Medal: Alex Darton

2015 South Australia Finalists

  • Technical Excellence Award: Flinders Ports and Esri Australia– Flinders Ports Common Operating Picture (vPort) project
  • People and Community Award: Digitalglobe and The South Australian Government Department of Community and Social Inclusion – Sampson Flat Fires Critical Information project
  • Environment and Sustainability Award: University of Adelaide– Remote sensing and spatial analysis enhancing ecological understanding of wetlands in South-Eastern South Australia – A Goyder Institute Project
  • Spatial Enablement Award: City of Port Adelaide Enfield– Graffiti Cleaning Project
  • Spatial Professional of the Year Award: Franco Rea
  • Young Professional of the Year Award: Beau Thorley
  • Educational Development Award: BertramOstendorf
  • Undergraduate/Graduate Student Award: Brooke Schofield– identifying acid sulphate soils using hyperspectral signatures and imagery
  • Undergraduate/Graduate Student Award: David Phillips– asset management project on the Kidman Trail

2015 Tasmania Winners

  • Award for Spatial Enablement: Jacobs Group & Mineral Resources Tasmania, Department of State Growth– St Marys Pass Slope Risk Assessment
  • Award for People and Community: Land Tasmania, Department of Primary Industries Parks Water and Environment, and Curriculum Services, Department of Education– Spatial Discovery and Technology in Schools GPS
  • Spatial Professional of the Year: John Dent
  • Young Professional of the Year: Alex Leith

2015 Victoria Winners

  • Award for Environment and Sustainability: Federation University Australia, Centre for eResearch and Digital Innovation, Corangamite Catchment Management Authority – project Corangamite Soil Health Knowledge Base
  • Award for Export: OMNILINK Pty Ltd– Improving Education Property Portfolio Management in the United Kingdom
  • Award for Innovation and Commercialisation: Geomatic Technologies– Bushfire Clearance Safety Program
  • Award for People and Community: Federation University Australia, Centre for eResearch and Digital Innovation and City of Ballarat– Historic Urban Landscape and Visualising Ballarat
  • Award for Spatial Enablement: GHD and Melbourne Water– Stormwater Asset Condition Assessment
  • Award for Technical Excellence: University of Melbourne, IBM Research Australia, RMIT University, Monash University, Emergency Management Victoria and University of California San Diego– Resilient Information Systems for Emergency Response
  • Victorian Government Award for Spatial Excellence: University of Melbourne, IBM Research Australia, RMIT University, Monash University, Emergency Management Victoria and University of California San Diego– Resilient Information Systems for Emergency Response
  • Professional of the Year: Professor Abbas Rajabifard
  • Young Professional of the Year: Holly Voller
  • Educational Development Award: Professor Matt Duckham
  • Postgraduate Student Award: Xiaoling Wu
  • Undergraduate Student Award: Jiajun Sun

2015 Western Australia Winners

  • Award for Innovation and Commercialisation: Aerometrex and Landgate– project aero3DPro-earthmine integrated solution
  • Award for People and Community: NGIS Australia, CRCSI and DigitalGlobe– project Cyclone Pam Crisis Map; Highly Commended: Department of Fisheries Esri Australia – project Fishability Map
  • Award for Spatial Enablement: Jacobs Group (Australia) Pty Limited– project TRIS Mapping Framework
  • Western Australian 2015 Most Outstanding Project: Jacobs Group (Australia) Pty Limited– TRIS Mapping Framework.
  • Young Professional of the Year:  Katherine Townsley
  • Professional of the Year:  Kerry Smyth
  • Education Development Award:  Mentors & Sponsors of the Student Survey Expedition
  • Undergraduate Student Award:  Rebekah Daley
  • Postgraduate Student Award:  Amir Khodabendeh

Still to come are the awards for New Zealand (to be announced 19 November 2015), Northern Territory (to be announced 23 November 2015), and the Pacific Islands (to be announced at the SPC Conference, November 2015).

The award winners from each of the ten regions will go into the running to win the overall Asia Pacific Spatial Excellence Awards that will presented at the APSEA Gala Presentation Dinner 13 April 2016 during the Locate 2016 Conference in Melbourne.

Posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , .